early morning terror

20140527_200222
Today at 4:50 am, I woke up to a HUGE explosion noise. It was so terrifying, and then it happened again! It kept going. Sounded like machine gun fire or something and it sounded like it was right outside my house. I didn't know what to do, so I rolled off my bed and lay on the floor beside my bed to get away from the window. I army crawled to my closet to get some clothes on in case I had to run. I was so scared, because it kept going. Anyway so finally I snuck to my door to see how my family was responding and I could hear movement and running water downstairs. I heard some sirens, although in the distance. Finally, the sounds stopped. Now I'm lying in bed listening to the sound of the cars driving past and the birds chirping and I'm absolutely terrified. Listening to praise music and hymns to calm my beating heart but I don't even know how I will ask what happened today. I am also supposed to walk to school today by myself...

----Update----

it was a freaking birthday celebration. Fireworks, I think is what my host mother was trying to tell me. Wooooow haha I guess this is how Guatemalans celebrate important days. She laughed at me. I'm still kind of traumatized. Didn't know if I was gonna make it through the day. Glad I'm alive. Off to school!

2 thoughts on “early morning terror

  1. Oh Hannah! This story is funny and awful at the same time… what a way to start the day. It sounds JUST like the sort of thing that would happen to me if I were traveling. I love your blog and I look forward to reading more.

Leave a Reply

