brief thoughts on smartphones

I wonder if people pray less now because with smart phones you always go to sleep knowing that everyone you care about is okay. When I don’t have that confirmation now, I get anxious. And that’s when I get the urge to pray. I wonder if knowing that everyone is “ok” all the time is a good thing. A lot of people say that that amount of contact with people through phones is “obsessive” but I think it might be a good thing. I know we’re supposed to feel more connected when we don’t have our phones, but that can only be with the people in very close proximity to you, not the people you care about far away. 

So is it easier to feel isolated now with smart phones? Do “deeper” relationships aided by face-to-face interaction mean more, even if they’re chosen exclusively based on proximity? 

Lately I think not. 

Image

Leave a Reply

